Creating “Hamlet”

Today’s blog post will attempt to answer the questions posed by Alec and Katia about the authenticity of interaction in my course prototype.

As I discussed before, my prototype will be about Hamlet. Shakespeare is unique in that the curriculum mandates a Shakespeare play be taught in ELA B10 and ELA B30:

b10
TGS: Teacher Guided Study, IS: Independent Study

b30 Therefore, a student in ELA B30 will study Shakespeare as a teacher-guided text, but it is up to the individual teacher as to which of the four plays to study.

Before I discuss interaction between students/instructors, I want to elaborate on my hypothetical student body.

My “class” would comprise of many students with many needs: high absenteeism (due to whatever reason: home life, vacations, sports etc.), a significant EAL population, students with diagnosed and undiagnosed LD for which they may or may not be receiving extra support, and a “middle of the road” population. These categories may overlap (an EAL student who is absent and has an LD). To me, this is a typical classroom at the school I teach at.

My course prototype/module is an introduction to Hamlet, which is the context for the play, a character overview, and a plot overview through a video, which will be posted on a Google Classroom (when I actually teach the class. For the purposes of this class, it will posted to my blog)

For the interaction portion of this module, I want to start with a Flipgrid set, which scenarios related to the play for students to pique interest in the play and themes (for the specific questions, you’ll have to wait for the module!)

hamlet.png

Furthermore, students will split into groups for a theme presentation project, for which they’ll use Google docs/slides to collaborate.

If I were creating the entire unit on Hamlet, there would be integration of quick Kahoots for comprehension, various selections from hereHamlet bingo (if you’re interested in what this is, let me know and I’ll send you the doc), and the culminating assignment of a comparative essay.

Because this will be on a Google Classroom, students will have the opportunity to interact on assignments with both myself and others through forums. There will be reflection questions based on the current portion of the play. Students will not have to discuss every prompt; they will be numbered and assigned a specific set of prompts and are required to interact on their prompts only. For the purpose of the assignment, prompts/discussion will take place on my blog for accessibility.

Because my hypothetical class would have in-class time as well as components online, there’s a mix of in person and online interactions.

Using Schwier’s chart, there are elements of mutuality in the group assignments and using technology that’s generally available or can be shared (i.e., school laptops, cellphones).

As for assessing student interactions, on the Classroom will be formative assessments (comprehension of the question and the thoroughness of their response). The summative assessment is the culminating essay, which students will be able to use ideas developed in their responses. Essentially, the questions/responses on the Google Classroom will act as pre-writing.

As well, students will be assessed on their thematic presentation, which should be completed in a collaborative space, such as Google docs/slides.

I really didn’t mean to write so much and I hope this is understandable and not as stream-of-consciousness as I fear.

Any suggestions for further formative assessments would be greatly appreciated! I’m looking for ones that show a general comprehension level (such as the Kahoot or Menti) and ones that show individual comprehension (like exit slips)

6 thoughts on “Creating “Hamlet”

  1. I am really excited to see what your project looks like when it is ready Kelsie!

    The idea that you have shared to use Flip Grid as a ‘hook’ sounds like the perfect way to get started. Why not use Flip Grid as an ‘exit’ slip for formative assessment if you feel that you need to round it out a bit more?

    Thanks for sharing your progress and thoughts this week!

    Like

  2. Nope – not just stream-of-consciousness :). I think it is clear in the sense that you are flushing out ideas – like we all are. You mentioned your diverse student population which reminded me that is a reason why I am planning to use See Saw for my young students who are EAL and LD etc. See Saw allows students to show what they know in visual ways – as well as through text. Saying that you want to ‘pique’ kids interest and that they would have to wait and see – also piqued my interest too 🙂 – I look forward to seeing what you come up with in your module. Thanks for the post Kelsie.

    Like

  3. Great post! I started a flipped classroom with my grade 10 math last week and have them watch the video and complete a Google Form for a formative assessment at the end (for example: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1utEJzNBf9MbkpsS_G01gYPW5BbxIpk4tnUUrwh3gwCk) Although this is still pretty new, from the first lesson I did, I really liked the way that it formatted the responses so I can take a quick peak and see if anything needs reteaching or to be talked about.

    Like

Leave a Reply

