Crash course in Crash Courses

I’m writing a little later in the week than anticipated (thank you, cold. Everyone, even the baby, is sick. It’s truly a magical time) but I’m so glad I did!

1j122e.jpg
Source: Imgflip

Reading through classmate’s blogs has been super informative this week. I especially appreciate the blog posts on the creation aspect of this past week. It really helped alleviate my (usual) procrastination about end-of-semester projects.

Liz looked at iMovie, which I have been contemplating for my project, as I’m on leave and don’t have a laptop, but I have my own iPad. I really glad to see the pros and cons of using that program.

Twana and Stephanie both blogged about Adobe Spark, which is another program I’ve been wanting to try out, potentially for the summary of learning. Their reviews definitely convinced me to try it out.

This week, I didn’t focus on the creation part, but the learning part. Like Andrew, the Crash Courses intrigued me.

In doing some cursory research, I found out that Crash Courses are actually partnered with PBS and Khan Academy.

untitled2
Screen Grab: PBS
untitled
Screen Grab: Khan Academy

Which is kind of cool, because it adds validity to their content because it has presumably been vetted by these partner companies.

I decided to watch a couple videos on Hamlet as that’s what my module will focus on.

I found the videos really informative and accurate, which is good for students looking to confirm their knowledge and to expand on information about the play they were unsure of. As well, the production value is WAY beyond my budget, both talent-wise, time-wise, and money-wise. But that’s good. It’s much more entertaining than I can be (some days).

homer-good
Source: Vancity Buzz

But, I found that it went so. fast. Like super fast. I was looking for the subtitles and the rewind button constantly. I feel that a script or watching (and re-watching) segments would be the best way to tackle this as I found it too much to ingest all at once. I would feel that I am also really putting my EAL kids at a disadvantage because of the speed.

homer-bad.jpg
Source: Vancity Buzz

Overall, though, I really like the format because I think it appeals to students, especially after they find out he’s the author of The Fault in Our Stars (Okay? Okay.) (and many more)

homer-good
Source: Vancity Buzz

And yes, that’s good.

5 thoughts on “Crash course in Crash Courses

  1. Crash Course is awesome! I didn’t know that it was associated with PBS or Khan either. I used iMovie for my Summary of Learning project in ECI 831, and loved the templates that made my video look more polished than what I could have achieved without them. Hope you’re feeling better!

    Like

  2. I am a Crash Course addict but, like you found, sometimes they speak SOOOO FAST! I have made up worksheets that students can use to follow along with in the past for various videos but find that they need to watch the video twice, the second time with some strategic pausing, in order for them to get all of the information but I don’t necessarily find that to be a bad thing, I find that they always catch a lot more the second time through.

    Like

  3. I like that it goes fast as I use it after I’ve taught the material more to confirm what they know and help reinforce understanding. The fact that it goes fast lets them cram more awesomeness into a video and keeps students attention and since it’s recorded you can always watch any part over and over.

    Like

Leave a Reply

